Posted by: jdavis | April 24, 2008

Tata Nano,the world’s cheapest car

 

I have always been a car fanatic since my childhood days. I would oftentimes day dream about driving my own car someday. Unfortunately, I still don’t have one right now. Owning a car now seems to be far more difficult than owning one couple of years ago. With the increasing demand of high cost living and the never ending financial constraints I am just trying to satisfy myself by looking at other people’s cars or by simply looking at pictures in the Internet(how pathetic).

 

Cars manufacturers are constantly creating more innovative and high tech cars. Every year, new line of hybrid and more innovative vehicles are being show cased. Of course, it is becoming more and more expensive which makes it even harder for middle-income families to acquire one.

 

I was browsing the net just a while ago and I was surprised to see the Tata Motors new launched car which is the Nano. The car is branded as ‘The People’s Car, the cost of which is $2,500 making it the world’s cheapest car. It will be launched in India in the latter part of 2008. Just when I thought that I will never have the chance to get myself a car, Nano paved its way. I know even with the cheap price, I still cannot afford to buy one since I have more important things to prioritize but at least it gives me hope.

 

So, what prompted the Tata Motors to create Nano car? The Chairman of Tata Group and Tata Motors, Mr. Ratan N. Tata said at the 9th Auto Expo in New Delhi that he have witnessed families riding in a scooter wherein the father is the one driving, one of the kids is standing in front of him, the mother is seating behind him while holding a little baby. Such depressing site provoked Mr. Tata and the rest of the Tata Motors’ engineers and designers to create an automobile which families with low or middle income can afford. The people behind the creation of what is known as People’s Car were able to fulfill their goal after for long years of planning.the car was not only made to be affordable, but it was also ensured that the safety requirements were still met and it is also said to be fuel efficient and has minimal emission. Well, I believe it is always worth the wait because finally, there is a car which is affordable for everyone.

 

That is indeed a real life situation that I can attest to because like other middle income families, me and my husband can only afford to buy a motorcycle and the scenario cited by Mr. Tata is the same scenario that my family encounters. Riding in a motorcycle with two kids is way too inconvenient and risky. With the new Tata Nano, mobility among families who cannot afford too expensive vehicles is no longer a huge problem because with the affordable price of Nano, a lot of families will surely be able to purchase a car.

 

In addition to its affordability and stylish exterior, Nano also have comfortable passenger compartment. It is specifically designed for four persons and has four doors. The car is small which makes it easy to maneuver. Other features include a rear-wheel drive, all-aluminum, two-cylinder, 623 cc, 33 PS, multi point fuel injection petrol engine. Nano also meets the required safety requirements and is known to be environment-friendly.

 

The Tata Company has proved that manufacturing a car need not be very expensive and cars are not only intended for those people who have high income. Nowadays, when everything else is becoming more expensive, I feel glad that a brilliant man was able to come up with something that is affordable without compromising its safety, style and performance

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

